Showing posts with label 10 Mile Run training. Show all posts
Showing posts with label 10 Mile Run training. Show all posts

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

I really felt like a knuckle dragger today


It was Hot and HUMID today.
My run required MAXIMUM effort.

Today was a hard 3.2 mile run. Not only was it hot and humid, but I think I've got some running issues. I think my form is bad, specifically my upper body. I think, well I'm pretty sure, that I carry my arms too close to me and lock my elbows...I also think my back ends up hunched over from all the tension in my arms. I may have to take some running form pics/video to see what I'm doing. All I know for sure is after I run my neck and shoulders feel tired and worn out. I must be doing something that isn't quiet right. But, despite the heat and my running form I still got a good 3.2 miles done, so I'm pretty proud of that!

Hubby ran today too, did 2.5 miles. He said he walked most of it and he didn't feel like he could call it running. I told him lots of runners walk, there is no walking police, no rules that say you can't walk from time to time...lol. He's very nervous about training for this 5K. He says he can't imagine himself looking or feeling any different than he does today. It does seem that way. I kinda feel the same thing about my 10 mile run. It's hard to imagine my body just going and going like that. But, logically I know with time and persistence it will happen...least something will happen. either I'll get faster or fall flat on my face...lol...either way I'm moving forward!

Today's Run Stats:

Distance: 3.20 miles
Time: 45:21
Pace: 14:10

"The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It's a very mean and nasty place and I don't care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get it and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That's how winning is done! " ~ Rocky Balboa

Sunday, July 18, 2010

The runner and the pea stone


This morning I decided to run outside, for one...it was finally not a bazillion degrees out! and for two, I need to get used to running outside again. So off I went looking at the sky, looked a bit dark and ominous... it was threatening to rain me out. But, I took off anyway.
For the first half mile I was feeling kinda woozy...ughhhh, barf.
No, I didn't barf, but the forward motion of my running was affecting me this morning and not in a stomach friendly way. I kept going and after about the first half mile I was feeling great. I trotted along, impressed by my stamina, one mile down...no problem. Passed a jogger who was heading the other way, gave a big smile and a little wave then continued on my merry way. Another half mile done...this was easy. Then came the HILLS.
At pretty much the start of mile 2 and stretching for the next mile is a VERY HILLY road. I started the first incline...very small probably 2% but I could feel it, "keep going, keep going, just to the mailbox, I can make it that far, I'm getting there, I have more, just a little more, to the fire hydrant, I can do it...now it's down hill, I can run it..." I kept going. When I got to the bottom of that hill I could feel my legs growing weaker. Ugh, and I had a stone in my shoe too,crap. I couldn't stop to mess with that, so I slowed down and tried to tap my toe on the cement, trying to send the rock into the toe of my shoe. Sort of reminds me of the story the princess and the pea..lol....the runner and the pea stone...a cautionary tale...lol. I struggled along. Part way into my journey up the hill a car pulled out...I had to stop.
My legs were screaming at me, so I walked at a quick pace up the hill to the top. It was downhill now so I figured, I had to run again and I picked up the pace. That section is a VERY gradual down hill slope which ends in a curve. I jogged down the hill and thought, "I'll go to the curve the I can walk for a bit", no such luck. At the bottom of the curve there is a house, and in the driveway stood a guy watching his dog wander around the front yard, I assumed he was bored to tears waiting for the dog to pee. He heard me coming and looked up. "Well, jeez, I can't stop and walk now", I thought, so I kept on running. Down, down, down the road til it curved again and I was safely out of sight..lol.. isn't it funny the mind games we play with ourselves. Once I was out of sight, I slowed to a walk to catch my breath and cursed the pea stone in my shoe. I got to the stop sign and realized I was almost done...less the half a mile left, yeay.
Then I looked at the hill ahead of me. It is definitely the steepest hill in our area. It's not very long at all, so I started up it...nope, not happening, my legs were mush, so I walked, staring at the ground concentrating, step one, step two... finally to the top...the end of my run was a nice gradual slope down to my house. That part was nice, I even mustered up enough energy to run up my driveway...which is another somewhat steep, very short hill...lol. I'm very glad that I ran outside today! It was a great day for it! Even though I had to run over half of it with a pesky stone in my shoe...lol.

Official Stats:
Distance: 3.12 miles
Time: 44:23
Pace: 14'13"